Press Statement From the Prime Prime Minister's office



The Media Development Authority (MDA) will be formed on 1 January 2003 from the merger of the Films and Publications Department (FPD), the Singapore Broadcasting Authority (SBA) and the Singapore Film Commission (SFC). The MDA will promote and develop the media industry in Singapore, whilst continuing to regulate content. Mr David T E Lim, Acting Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts (MITA) has appointed 15 board members to the MDA Board.

Heading the MDA board as Chairman will be Dr Tan Chin Nam, Permanent Secretary of MITA, who is also the current Chairman of SBA. Mr Lim Hock Chuan, who is now the Chief Executive Officer of SBA and the CEO-designate of MDA, has been named as a Board Member. The full list of the members is at ANNEX. The appointment of the Board Members will be for a period of two years with effect from 1 January 2003. It will replace the current SBA Board, which will be dissolved on 31 December 2002.

The MDA Board has broadened with representatives in various media industries from production houses, film industry and creative industries, and academia and partners in the development and promotion of the media industry. Their expertise and knowledge will enable MDA to develop new initiatives and programmes to further the growth of the media industry.

MITA would like to express our appreciation to the SBA board members for their valuable contributions.




ANNEX: List of Media Development Authority (MDA) Board Members

1. Dr Tan Chin Nam
Permanent Secretary
Ministry of Information, Communications and the Arts

2. Mr Lim Hock Chuan
Chief Executive Officer, Singapore Broadcasting Authority

3. Dr Abdul Razakjr Omar
Registrar, Department of Cardiology
National University Hospital

4. Mr Frank Brown
President, MTV Networks Asia

5. Ms Jennie Chua
President & CEO, Raffles International Ltd

6. BG Jek Kian Yee
Director, Ministry of Defence

7. Mr K Shanmugam
Senior Counsel, Partner, Head, Litigation Dept
Allen & Gledhill

8. Prof Eddie Kuo
Dean, School of Communications & Information
Nanyang Technological University

9. Mr Loh Siu Yin
General Manager, Sony Pictures Television Ltd

10. Mr Phoon Chiong Kit
Managing Director, Golden Harvest Entertainment (Holdings) Pte Ltd

11. Mr Tan Chek Ming
Assistant Managing Director, Economic Development Board

12. Ms Tan Ching Yee
CEO, Infocomm Development Authority of Singapore

13. Dr Finian Tan
Managing Director & Head, Singapore & Malaysia Coverage
Credit Suisse First Boston

14. Mr Viswa Sadasivan
Chairman & CEO, The Right Angle Media Pte Ltd

15. Mr Andrew Yap
Executive Vice Chairman, Intertainer (Asia) Pte Ltd

Speech by Ms Sim Ann, Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Communications and Information at the launch of OneSME Speeches Infocomm Media 28 Sep 20
Poll on Budget Measures 2020 News Others 28 Sep 20
Speech by Mr S Iswaran, Minister for Communications and Information, at DBS Digital Day Speeches Infocomm Media 16 Sep 20
MCI's response to PQ on US Clean Network Initiative Parliament QAs Cyber Security, Infocomm Media 04 Sep 20
MCI's response to PQ on e-payment for merchants Parliament QAs Infocomm Media 04 Sep 20
MCI's response to PQ on Internet connectivity Parliament QAs Cyber Security, Infocomm Media 04 Sep 20